RSS

Another Timely Message

29 Aug

So I think this may become a trend on my blog, and it will be the timely nature of God. Even through something static and man made, God will speak if we merely take time to hear it.

This morning I was doing a bit of catching up, and part of that was Psalm 143. I have a confession to make before I go any further, I’m a Psalms addict.  I know my favorite is supposed to be somewhere between Matthew and John, but I cannot help myself.

I love the Psalms because of the beauty of the language, and there is incredible power in the different types of Psalms. From praise to lament to calling out to God in absolute desperation I feel that the Psalms give us a picture of the lives of the writers and how they interacted with God.

So this morning I read, “Let me hear of your steadfast love in the morning, for in you I put my trust. Teach me the way I should go, for to you I life up my soul.” Psalm 143:8 NRSV.  This verse was really something I needed to hear, after some stress and stupidity I needed to be reminded of God’s steadfast love.

I also needed to be reminded as I am daily or more often of God’s steadfast love. I love how timely scripture is. No matter where you are reading or what you are reading God can order our chaos. I see the chaos in our world, and it is a constant reminder of how God ordered the tehom. The nothingness, also often called chaos, and brought forth the order of creation.

When we see these words we need to be reminded that God’s action did not end at the creation of the world. He is constantly recreating and sustaining the world, a constant reordering of the cosmos. Let us all sear for the way we should go with God, and even if we do not know exactly where we are headed, that we lift our souls to the one who gives us chaos and order.

 

Leave a Reply

 
