RSS

Timely Messages

23 Aug

This morning I sat down in my office, just a little stressed about the upcoming schedules and things going on around me. So I dove into my life journal for the morning, and this is the timely word that was sent to me. “I will make an everlasting covenant with them, never to draw back from doing to them; and I will put the fear of me in their hearts, so that they may no turn from me.” Jeremiah 32:40

I told the students that have begun on the journey of Life Journals with me that it would amaze them how timely the words they would be reading would be. Even if the reading plan we’re following is static and designed to get the readers to read a good portion of the bible in a year. Sometimes the words that God will give are exactly what you need to hear.

I wrote recently about living into the pregnant pause, and maybe God is not silent, but saying “wait.” But one thing we cannot do is quit listening, or quit talking to God about the things that are bothering us. And I found renewed conversation with God through pouring myself into devotion, discipline, and reading of God’s word. It is so hard sometimes to regain the feeling of closeness or even the feelings of moving towards something greater.

There have been times in my life where I have felt extreme closeness with God, like nothing could break the stride of my walk. But there are other times in life where I feel that I am so off track, headed in a direction I was not meant for, and those times are incredibly discouraging to the spirit.

Then you get these words from Jeremiah. The things in Israel are bad, not just unpleasant, but downright bad. The Chaldeans and Babylonians are bearing down on the city of Jerusalem, destruction is imminent. But God tells Jeremiah that eventually the people will receive their land, and in even greater measure again soon. So this is when we get the word about the everlasting covenant for good.

The comes a mere three chapters after some of my favorite words in the Bible. “For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare, and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.” Jeremiah 29:11. I often return to those words for inspiration, even when I do not feel like I am on the right track, I know God knows where I am going, and He knows what He is doing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
