RSS

A Systematic Nature

17 Aug

Recently it seems like I have been writing a lot about the attempt at living a devotional life. Posts about living life in a way that becomes a devotion to God. And about living our lives as prayers and hearing the pregnant pause that we often live in. This week I am going to write living our lives in a systematic kind of way.

Now any of my seminary friends may have gone into full brain lock-down at seeing anything with a title of Systematic, but please do not worry. Moltmann will not be quoted, neither will Church Dogmatics by Karl Barth. But the idea of how to do Systematic Theology is near and dear to this post. The idea being that you start with the most basic building blocks, and then moving towards greater things.

When I took Systematic Theology in seminary it was honestly one of the most difficult things I have ever done. The thick and dry tomes of Theology are just not really my thing, although reading and at least minimally understanding these books was an incredible stretching experience.

Maybe what I’m getting at in this post is that maybe we need to live our lives in a way that is recognizable to the methodology of Systematic Theology. We need to begin in a place where we live the life of a Christian in small things, and that we can move forward from those places.

We have begun our new small group schedule here at the church and we are using Life Journals (put out by http://www.lifejournal.cc) and this morning my verse from this morning was this. “I will give them a heart to know that I am the Lord; and they shall be my people and I will be their God, for they shall return to me with their whole heart” Jeremiah 24:7.

Maybe the most basic place we can begin from is our hearts, maybe we can start by at least attempting to put our hearts in the right place. Placing our hearts in the right place will if not immediately, then eventually mean that the rest of us will follow suit. So let us try living systematically and putting our hearts in the place where it can be used by God.

 

Leave a Reply

 
