RSS

A Measure of Judgment

06 Jul

Let me preface this post by saying that my heart cries out for Caylee Anthony, her suffering makes me want to sit down and cry.  However, I am writing about the response that I see, and what our response as Christ’s followers should.

I woke up this morning and turned on my television. This is an unusual occurrence for me, but after I saw what was on I sat down and ate my cereal on the couch. What was on? It was the Today show, and what were they talking about? The Casey Anthony trial, and gauging reactions from people all over the place, even a former member of her defense team.

Yesterday all I saw, in my daily life as a social media addict, was reaction to the verdict, and at times the crying out for Casey Anthony’s demise. I had a single friend on facebook who called for Christian’s to act in a graceful way towards Casey Anthony.

When I sat down in my office for my quiet time this morning I read this, “Do not judge, so that you may not be judged. For with the judgment you make you will be judged, and the measure you give will be the measure you get.” Matthew 7:1-2. I myself as a follower of Christ know that I have been forgiven for all of the sins I have ever committed.

When I read this it really hit me at the gut level in seeing the response that I have seen to this verdict, I had to wonder at how many of those people would qualify themselves as Christian. I am not questions their faith or faithfulness, merely how well their responses are integrated with their faith.

My view of the human condition is that I am a fallen creature, that I sin and fall short of the glory of God, but I am forgiven. My status as being forgiven is to guide everything that I do, and especially to my interactions with other people. As a follower of Christ we have to extend grace to others, because if we do not we are not truly following in the way we should.

Seeing the acrimony, anger, and hate that I have seen poured out makes me wonder at how well we are integrating and communicating our faith to the world around us. I know that the ones who yell loudest often get heard, but we as Christians can mount a quiet, strong and graceful response to the world around us.

 

3 responses to “A Measure of Judgment

  1. Caroline Banks

    July 6, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    This article really made me think and reconsider my thoughts. As christains we are supposed to forgive but with all of the overwhelming influence from those around us we often just jump on the bandwagon and go. This really is one of those cases that we have to sit down and just think WWJD.

     
  2. Chocolate Thunda Llama Lover

    July 13, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Hey hey. Emma again. This might be my favorite post so far….because I have often wondered the same thing. That young woman is getting so much hate right now, (I did not see the trial, only heard the verdict and the outrage from my family, so I don’t know whether she’s guilty or not) and I thought about telling everybody to lighten up a little!

     
  3. Marlin

    July 14, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    Awesome, words young man. Most likely inspired by the Holy Spirit. THANKS for taking a stand; for not only believing the word but living it through example.
    I do not know you, but our heavenly Father does and we’ve prayed to him in your behalf asking that His will be done in your life and ministry.
    Yours in Christ
    Marlin

     

Leave a Reply

 
