RSS

My Own Little World

05 Jan

So my friend Glenn Weeks and I have been bouncing posts back and forth for a while now. We have been bouncing things back and forth and last night he once again inspired me.  His post The Cat of December made me think, and because I am a musician it immediately made me think of a song.

If you are not a fan of Christian Radio (which I admit is oftentimes cheesy and the “on air personalities” are often absolutely annoying) you ma y have not hear Matthew West’s “My Own Little World” which you can watch here Matthtew West \”My Own Little World\”(again I’m sorry for the ads.) This song has been very influential for me lately, and it doesn’t hurt that it seems to be playing everything I have K-Love on the radio.

The song is the story of a person who is living in an insulated world, never known hunger, cold, or the uncertainty that poverty can bring into a life. A life much like my own. The chorus says “What if there is a bigger picture/ What if I’m missing out? / What if there’s a greater purpose/ I could be living right now” and this is a question that I try to ask not only myself but the youth I am in ministry to often. How many of us are caught up in comfort and the “American Dream” and subsequently focus only on ourselves.

I think we are living in a culture of me, myself, and I and right now.  We want instant results, we want instant gratification, and this has led to a way of living that is blinded to the pain around us.  We are surrounded by suffering, we hear about on the radio about the economy and in the grand scale of the entire United States. However, we don’t see the suffering and pain in our neighbors, or the loneliness that is crushing the souls of so many today.

Later in the song Matthew West writes and sings, “Father break my heart for what breaks yours, give me open hands and open doors.” I keep coming back to those lines because as much as I try I still miss the suffering around me every day.  It’s easy for me, because of the church I am a part of, to fall back on the charity and good works that are done here through Macon Outreach.  We feed a lot of people, give a lot of groceries, and even clothe a lot of people here, but that does not free me from my responsibility to do good.

How can I and how can you be better ambassadors for God and his mission in the world around us? We talk a lot about the abstract ideas of living out faith, but how can we actually live in a concrete way. We vow to give our prayers, presence, gifts, service, and witness. How do we truly do that in the world around us.

 

4 responses to “My Own Little World

  1. Keri

    January 6, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Wow. After watching that video, I feel challenged. Not just because I want to help people, but it what I should do as a Christian.

    I will definitely be posting this over on my blog as well. I’ll link back here to that people can read your post as well.

    Great word Thomas!

     
  2. Keri

    January 6, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I’m not sure if my first comment went through so lets try this again……

    That is an amazing video. I felt very challenged by it. Not only because I want to help, but because as a Christian, its what we are called to do.

    I will definitely be posting the video on my blog and linking to your post.

    Great word Thomas.

     
  3. Chocolate Thunda Llama Lover

    January 7, 2011 at 12:47 am

    Wow. What a powerful song and message. I read this post and then thought about it for like, 5 minutes and the realization hit me in the face. We do some things (Macon Outreach) as Christians, but some other things we do as just people. I don’t know. Just ignore this post. It doesn’t make any sense.

     
  4. Glenn Weeks

    February 13, 2011 at 2:22 am

    Thinking about the old song by Petra “Looking Through Rose Colored Stained-Glass Windows”….

     

Leave a Reply

 
