RSS

One of These Days

21 Dec

Tis the season we say at this time of year, we run around frantically and we wallow in Christmas cheer.  Do not misunderstand me, I love the Christmas season, but it has once again been forcefully reminded to me how busy this time of year becomes. I have Christmas presents to assemble, and I have work that feels undone in my office, as well as what looks like an explosion across my desk.

This season is part of many seasons, the Christmas Season, for those in the church the Advent Season, and for germs Cold & Flu season. I have found the germs and have been battling sickness for a few days, as well as my children fighting sickness.  But as they say the show must go on, it does not matter if I have a fever or don’t feel well I need to take advantage of my days.

But I can’t help but return to the Advent Conspiracy book and video series telling me that maybe I’ve missed the point on Christmas. Maybe there is too much going on, and too many irons in the fire, but I find my life so fulfilling that I don’t want to miss anything on any side. There are so many things that I need to get done and I feel that one day I may possibly catch up. But I am wondering how I can manage to not miss the birth of Jesus amidst the scrum of the rest of life.

One of these days the pace of Christmas will no longer surprise me, and will no longer catch me slightly, if not woefully, under-prepared. One of these days I will figure out how to more successfully focus on Jesus during Christmas. I challenge each of you to take a moment, an hour, or a day of oasis and remember that some day there will not s0 many things around that we forget about the reason for the season.  One of these days I will kneel down earnestly and worship the King child born in a manger, born to poor and lowly people.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 21, 2010 in Advent, Authentic Faith, Christmas, Life, rest, service

 

One response to “One of These Days

  1. Glenn Weeks

    December 24, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Well said – and for me it is becoming more and more having to answer the question Pilate asked. What then should I do with this Jesus?

     

Leave a Reply

 
