RSS

There’s a Fine Line Between Denial and Faith

04 Aug

“There’s a fine line between denial and faith. It’s much better on my side.” Rose, Season 1 of LOST

I am not a huge TV watcher, although I do have a few shows that I follow on a regular basis.  One of the holes in my TV viewing life will be LOST, which is one of the shows that I have been invested in for the last few years.  Here lately where we are living we do not receive many TV stations so we’ve reverted to watching series and other things on DVD.  So recently we watched season 5 of LOST and then had some friends bring us seasons 1 through 4.

So we recently began our journey with LOST once again, and I am constantly reminded of how much I had forgotten about the early seasons.  To give you a brief synopsis of season 1 it is their first period of time on the island, when they are learning about the “special” nature of the place.  Rose, whose husband Bernard, was in the tail section of the plane when the crash happened.  Despite what they think is certainty of the fate of the people in the tail section of the plane Rose holds out faith in Bernard’s continued existence.

So in the show after the pregnant Claire by who is to become “the others” Charlie the rock star is devastated by her disappearance.  Rose basically pushes Charlie into actually helping in moving the community further up the beach.  When they sit beside a tree Rose looks to Charlie and says the quote at the beginning of the post.  It spoke to me as an image of the truth about the way those of us who have faith often live.  The difference between faith and denial is usually not a large difference but a very small one.

Often people who claim to not believe in God say so because of the questions and implications of questions given out by the church.  Tough questions are often met with platitudes from the church, not by those in the church getting down in the depths of despair with people.  Often denial begins with despair, and the church often fails at the answering of tough questions.  Theodicy is a big term to say “why bad things happen to good people,” which is one of the toughest questions in the world to answer.  People often leave the faith when they see God and pulling strings or God being irrelevant to their situation.

I have no good answer for Theodicy, it is something I struggle with when I look at the world around me.  While I seem to have a guardian angel that keeps me and my family safe, there are others who are meeting tragedy on a daily basis.  The question that plagues me is why me? Why do I seem to get more breaks or favor in the long run? There are no easy or quick answers, and anyone who tells you otherwise is either lying or a fool.  The only answer I can honestly give to myself on a daily basis is that I believe God is a loving God.  I have faith that God has plans for my welfare as Jeremiah tells us, and that the only way for me to engage with people who are hurting is to get down in the depths with them. How can I be “in the depths” with those who are hurting today?

 
 

One response to “There’s a Fine Line Between Denial and Faith

  1. JonText

    December 9, 2011 at 10:52 am

    Like so many others, I struggled with that question…
    Why do bad things happen to good people?
    Until I read -There is none good but God. No, not one.

     

Leave a Reply

 
